

THE UNIVERSITY OF THE WEST INDIES

The University of the West Indies (UWI), an institution long recognized for its scholarship, has been a significant force in the political, economic and cultural development of the Caribbean region.

The UWI is truly a regional institution as it serves 15 English-speaking Caribbean countries from three campuses located in Jamaica, Trinidad & Tobago and Barbados, and University Centres and School of Continuing Studies in the non-campus countries, including the Centre for Hotel and Tourism Management in the Bahamas.

Through its seven faculties, UWI offers undergraduate and graduate degrees, as well as diploma and certificate programmes, in Engineering, Humanities and Education, Law, Medical Sciences, Pure & Applied Sciences, Science and Agriculture, and Social Sciences.



The campus at Mona is the oldest and largest of the three campuses and has a student population of approximately 13,000. It is nestled at the foothills of the Blue Mountain range, and is spread over approximately 650 acres of land. In addition to four faculties - Humanities and Education, Medical Sciences, Pure and Applied Sciences and Social Sciences, (as well as the first year of Law), Mona is home to several special teaching and research units, including the Biotechnology Centre, the Caribbean Institute of Media and Communication (CARIMAC) and the International Centre for Environmental and Nuclear Sciences (ICENS). Other centres include the Sir Arthur Lewis Institute of Social and Economic Studies (SALISES), the Tropical Medicine Research Institute (TMRI), the Caribbean Food and Nutrition Institute (CFNI), and the UWI Centre for Environment and Development (UWICED). There are also

the Social Welfare Training Centre, the Caribbean Child Development Centre and the Trade Union Education Institute, all part of the School of Continuing Studies. The University Hospital of the West Indies is a major teaching hospital for the Faculty of Medical Sciences at Mona. The Norman Manley Law School is located on the Campus.



The Radio Education Unit, the Library of the Spoken Word and the Philip Sherlock Centre for the Creative Arts form part of the Cultural Studies Initiative, Office of the Vice Chancellor.



The Philip Sherlock Centre for the Creative Arts nurtures specialist skills in the visual and performing arts, and offers degree courses in Creative Writing and Theatre Techniques under the umbrella of the Faculty of Humanities and Education. Clubs and Societies affiliated with the Centre include the University Panoridim Steel Orchestra, the University Singers, the University Dramatic Arts Society and the Camera Club.

THE ARMS OF THE UNIVERSITY



The arms of the University consists of a shield and a crest. The background of the shield is the sea represented by blue and white wavy lines on which is an open book. The upper part of the shield is red with a lion to show the connection with the Crown. This is the lion borne by H.R.H. Princess Alice, Countess of Athlone, appointed by the King (George VI) to be the first Chancellor, so that this appointment is recorded forever in the Arms of the University.

The crest is the brown Pelican which fishes in its prehistoric fashion along the coast of all the Caribbean Lands: the pelican is a symbol of care for the young because of the medieval, but untrue, belief that it punctures its breast to feed its young on its blood. It is also used as the crest by the Corpus Christi Colleges of Oxford and Cambridge.

The motto is: Oriens ex Occidente Lux:
A Light Rising from the West.

THE UNIVERSITY MANAGEMENT TEAM



Prof. Rex Nettleford Vice Chancellor



Prof. E. Nigel Harris Vice Chancellor (Designate)



Professor Marlene Hamilton Pro Vice Chancellor Administration and Special Initiatives



Professor Hilary Beckles Pro Vice Chancellor and Principal Cave Hill



Elsa Leo-Rhynie Pro Vice Chancellor Board for Undergraduate Studies



Professor Kenneth Hall Pro Vice Chancellor and Principal Mona



Professor Wayne Hunte Pro Vice Chancellor Research



Dr. Bhoendradatt Tewarie Pro Vice Chancellor and Principal St Augustine

THE UNIVERSITY MANAGEMENT TEAM



Professor the Hon Errol Morrison Pro Vice Chancellor, and Dean School for Graduate Studies and Research



Professor Lawrence Carrington Pro Vice Chancellor Board for Non-Campus Countries and Distance Education



Professor Gurmohan Kochhar Deputy Principal St Augustine



Professor Christine Barrow Deputy Principal Cave Hill



Mrs Gloria Barrett-Sobers Director of Administration/ University Registrar



Mr. Joseph Pereira Deputy Principal Mona



Mr. Winston Bayley Director of Finance/ University Bursar



Mrs. Joy Pilgrim Special Assistant to the Vice Chancellor

THE MONA MANAGEMENT TEAM



Prof. Kenneth Hall Pro Vice Chancellor and Principal



Mr. Joseph Pereira Deputy Principal



Mr. G.E.A. Falloon Campus Registrar



Mrs. Elaine Robinson Campus Bursar



Mr. Herman McDaniel Deputy Campus Bursar