The University of the West Indies, at Mona, Jamaica Homepage

The University of the West Indies

at Mona, Jamaica

Earthquake Unit

 
>
 leaf as bullet  Home
 leaf as bullet  Our Mission Statement
 leaf as bullet  History
 leaf as bullet  Earthquakes in Jamaica
 leaf as bullet  Staff
 leaf as bullet  Earthquake Report Form
 leaf as bullet  Earthquake Updates
A minor quake(Mag 3.6) was reportedly felt on January 22,2017 at 9:43am. Epicentre near Accompong, St Elizabeth.
Did you feel it? Please click here to download and print our Earthquake Report Form*. *Requires Adobe Reader
 
Antenna used for transmitting data 
Visiting school students at Earthquake Unit booth during exhibition

 

The Staff








Acting Head

Prof. Simon Mitchell, B.Sc (UWI), M.Sc (Atl. U), Ph.D.
Seismologist
Email : simon.mitchell@uwimona.edu.jm

 

Administrative Secretary

Mrs. Verdine Stephenson, B.A (UWI)
Email : verdine.stephenson@uwimona.edu.jm

 

Education and Information Officer

Ms. Karleen Black, B.Sc (UWI), MDM (GRIPS Japan)
Email : karleen.black@uwimona.edu.jm

 

Information/Electronics Technologist

Mr. Paul Coleman, B.Sc (UWI)
Email: paul.coleman02@uwimona.edu.jm

 

Network Engineer

Mr. Paul Williams, B.Eng (UTech), M.Sc (UWI)
Email : paul.williams@uwimona.edu.jm

 

Seismic Analyst

Mr. Raymond Stewart, B.Sc (UWI)
Email : raymond.stewart@uwimona.edu.jm

 

Scientific Officer
Mr. Travis Edwards, B.Sc (Utech)

Email : travis.edwads@uwimona.edu.jm

Visiting Scholar
Dr. Katherine K. Ellins, B.A (Skidmore College), M.A (NYU),Ph.D(Columbia University LDEO)
(Temporary)
Email : kellins@jsg.utexas.edu