## About the Ophthalmological Society of Jamaica

The Ophthalmological Society of Jamaica's constitution was passed on May 12, 1985, at the UHWI Eye Clinic. The founding fathers of the specialty in Jamaica were Dr Leighton Clarke, Dr Lyndon Evelyn, Dr D Degazon and Dr HA Bramwell. The founding President was Dr Hugh Vaughan. The OSJ was re-launched in 2011 and has been committed to its objectives.

The objectives of the OSJ include promotion of the best possible eye-care in Jamaica and the Caribbean through corporative efforts by:

o Educational Work: promoting excellence through continued education

- o Publications: issuing of appropriate publications
- Statistics and reports: obtaining and disseminating accurate information regarding the various activities of this society
- Associations: encouraging and assisting in the formation of such societies and forming strong links with existing societies in the Caribbean and worldwide
- Cooperation with other bodies: promoting fraternal and professional relationships between fellow practitioners

