# Caribbean Association of Ophthalmic Technical Personnel (CAOTP) COUNCIL 2014 – 2015



# Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort Nieuwpoort, Curacao

July 8 – 11, 2015

**President:** Marilyn Watkins-Ramdin **Vice-President:** Nirmala Seenath-Mohammed **Secretary:** Krystal Henry **Treasurer:** Krystal Lovell **Public Relations Officer:** Charles Marshall

# Acknowledgements We, the board of CAOTP, wish to acknowledge the following sponsors **OSWI JCAHPO ORBIS** Lenstec Poen Eye See You Opthalmic and Medical Supplies Ltd Caribbean Ophthalmic Services

## PREFACE

### Greetings!

The Caribbean Association of Ophthalmic Technical Personnel (CAOTP) is proudly presenting its 2<sup>nd</sup> annual Ophthalmic Technicians and Nurses Programme in beautiful Curacao during the OSWI conference, July 8–11, 2015.

The CAOTP was formed in 2013, after six successful years of a training programme for the technicians and nurses from 2008. This came out of a burning desire to not only increase the ophthalmic knowledge of allied health professionals but to provide them with international certification, therefore enhancing their professional development and improving patient care.

Thus, the purpose of CAOTP is to enhance the quality and availability of ophthalmologic care in the Caribbean, Guyana and Suriname, by providing and encouraging continuing medical education and certification of the allied health professional. We have been successful thus far in our alliance with the Joint Commission on Allied Health Personnel in Ophthalmology (JCAHPO), by having certified technicians in Barbados, Dominica, Jamaica, Suriname and Trinidad since 2011.

The CEO of JCAHPO, Dr Lynn Anderson, along with OSWI's own Dr Sonja Johnston and the management of ORBIS has been at the forefront working with CAOTP to achieve these goals. We also encourage professional relationships amongst the technicians and nurses within the region.

The board of CAOTP welcomes you all to beautiful Curacao where we will form new friendships and learn new skills.

Marilyn Watkins-Ramdin President