EDITORIAL BOARD

**Chairman** P Adams

Editor-in-Chief

RJ Wilks

Associate Editors

D Cohall T Ferguson DT Gilbert G Hutchinson R Pierre

Assistant Editors

MO Castillo-Rangel A Levy D Soares

**Deans**T Paul
T Seemungal

H Trotman

R Roberts (Director, UWI School of Clinical Medicine and Research

- The Bahamas)

Treasurer

C Parke-Thwaites

**Editorial Board** T Alleyne P Brown

C Christie-Samuels

N Duncan T Jones

R Melbourne-Chambers

A Nicholson J Plummer

C Rattray T Richards DT Simeon

J St John (CARPHA)

S Weaver

MF Smikle

Editorial Advisory Board

G Burkett C Escoffery N Kissoon M Lee C Ogunsalu A Ojo D Oshi

M Samms-Vaughan GR Serjeant M Voutchkov

Past Editors

JL Stafford 1951–1955 JA Tulloch 1956–1960

D Gore 1961
CP Douglas 1962
D Gore 1963–1966
P Curzen 1967
RA Irvine 1967–1969
TVN Persaud 1970–1972

GAO Alleyne 1973–1975 V Persaud 1975–1995 D Raje 1995–1996 WN Gibbs 1996–1999 EN Barton 1999–2018

#### **BUSINESS INFORMATION**

Copyright: © West Indian Medical Journal 2021. Articles are published in open access under a Creative Commons Attribution International licence (CC BY). For more information, please visit https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/deed.en US.

Microform: The Journal is available in microform from Bell and Howell Information and Learning.

Abstracting and Indexing: The Journal is currently included in major abstracting and indexing services.

Correspondence should be addressed to:

THE EDITOR-IN-CHIEF, West Indian Medical Journal, Faculty of Medical Sciences, The University of the West Indies, Mona, Kingston 7, Jamaica, West Indies

West Indian Medical Journal (open access): wimj@uwimona.edu.jm; www.mona.uwi.edu/fms/wimj WIMJ Open (open access): wimjopen@uwimona.edu.jm; www.mona.uwi.edu/wimjopen

Telephone: +1 (876) 927-1214. Fax: +1 (876) 927-1846.



# THE UNIVERSITY OF THE WEST INDIES Mona, Kingston Jamaica

## **Faculty of Medical Sciences**

# 28th Annual Research Conference and Workshop

## Genomics in Health: Medical, Ethical and Societal Matters

November 7, 8 and 10, 2019

### **Editor-in-Chief**

Professor Emeritus RJ Wilks

## **Conference Organizing Committee**

Dr Tomlin Paul (Dean) Dr Christine Walters (Chair)

Dr Simone Badal

Mrs Antoinette Barton-Gooden

Dr Nadia Bennett Mr Damien Brown

Dr Jacqueline Campbell Dr Colette Cunningham-Myrie

Dr Romayne Edwards Dr Michael Fitz-Henley

Mr Craig Hall

Professor Jennifer Knight-Madden

Professor John Lindo

Dr Lisa Lindo Dr Kwesi Marshall Dr Donovan McGrowder

Professor Joseph Plummer Dr Arvind Babu Rajendra Santosh Dr Angela Rankine-Mullings

Ms Sharon Roberts

Dr Camille Thoms-Rodriguez

Dr Helen Trotman Dr Wayne West Dr Sonja Williams

Acknowledgements
The conference organizers wish to thank the following for their support:
Office of Graduate Studies and Deceased. The University of the West Indias Mona Jamesica
Office of Graduate Studies and Research, The University of the West Indies, Mona, Jamaica
Coldwell Banker Jamaica Realty
Digicel, Jamaica
Medimpex Jamaica Limited