UWI Mona Campus Image: Mona Curve image for menu aesthetics
Taylor Hall | Hall of Halls
Search |
red colored bar
grey colored bar
Named after the first principal of the University College of the West Indies, Sir Thomas Weston Johns Taylor, Taylor Hall was first opened in 1953 with 101 students in total.
The Pelican, our official mascot to date replaced the bell and later the cast iron ball. The Pelican is also a part of the proud crest of the University of the West Indies.

The hall has four male blocks, A “Stallion Republic”, B “Butchers”, C ‘Roosters”, and D “Attica”. The completion of the new block, E “Excellencia”, F “Falconia”, and G “Galaxia” came in 1962 and females occupied these blocks three years later. Our present student services manager Mr. Peter O’Sullivan is 11th in line of leaders to serve the great Tayloria.

For Taylor hall greatness is the norm, as we have achieved the most first class honor graduates for any hall on campus. Hall of halls, our slogan speaks for itself the best at every thing. In all areas of university life, Taylor hall stands out, whether in academics, sports, cultural activities or leadership. We boast a long list of past and present Taylorites who have distinguished themselves locally and internationally. These include, Professor Mervyn Alleyne, Professor Edward Baugh, Dr.Knox Hagley, Dr. Stephen Vasciannie, Nobel Prize Winner Derek Walcott, past Miss World Lisa Hanna, Prime minister of St.Vincent and the Grenadines Dr. the honorable Ralph Gonsalves, Professor Verene Shepherd, Tanesha Mcghie, Annicia Gayle and the Vice Chancellor of the University of the West Indies the honourable. R.M.Nettleford are a few illustrious Taylorites.


Truth about Jaghi

Taylor Hall Yesterday

red colored bar
grey colored bar

© The University of the West Indies. All rights reserved. Disclaimer | Privacy Statement
Telephone: (876) Fax: (876)
Site best viewed at 800 x 600 resolution or higher.