LLB Programme Structure

The LLB Programme Structure

The Academic year is divided into two (2) Semesters running from September to December, and from January to May. 

 There is a mandatory requirement that Full-time students take five (5) courses per semester, each worth three (3) credits* while Part-Time students are required to complete two (2) or three (3) courses per semester.

Students (Part-time and Full-time) require a total of ninety-three (93) credits to be eligible for the award of the degree.

The courses undertaken in the first and second parts of the curriculum are prescribed. During part I, the student is required to undertake three (3) foundation courses offered by the Faculty of Humanities & Education and the Faculty of Science and Technology, as well as seven (7) compulsory level I law courses. In part II, the student is required to pursue ten (10) non-optional level II law courses. In the final part, the student may choose their own programme of study from the more than thirty (30) level III courses and seminars that are taught by both full-time and part-time faculty. 

Students are encouraged to pursue their own ambitions and interests and to undertake advanced work including independent study under supervision of the members of the faculty. The breadth and diversity of the curriculum allows for programmes of study which are tailored to the needs and ambitions of the individual student. 

Upon the completion of study, the LLB degree may be awarded in the following categories:

       First Class Honours (GPA 3.60 and above)

       Upper Second Class Honours (GPA 3.00 - 3.59)

       Lower Second Class Honours (GPA 2.50 - 2.99)

       Pass  (GPA 2.00 - 2.49)                  

 *With the exception of LAW1230: Legal Methods, which is a year-long course.