PRESS RELEASE: Inter-American Commission on Human Rights Seminar on Citizen Security and Human Rights for CARICOM Ombudspersons - 26 MAY 2016

Press Release

26 May 2016

Caribbean Ombudspersons call for a human rights approach to addressing citizen security and crime

Across the world, ombudspersons are fundamental to building a culture of respect for human rights and the rule of law. Through human rights education and receiving and responding to complaints related to human rights violations, ombuds institutions can play a decisive role in ensuring that citizen security is understood as a human right and that a human rights approach is taken to the region-wide concern of citizen insecurity and crime.

On May 19 and 20, 2016 approximately 20 representatives from 11 Offices of Ombudspersons and related institutions in the Caribbean region (Barbados, Belize, Jamaica, Puerto Rico, St. Lucia and Trinidad and Tobago) and Costa Rica met in Kingston, Jamaica at the Faculty of Law, UWI, Mona to discuss issues of citizen security and human rights, with a focus on the inter-American human rights system. 

The seminar was organised by the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights, which was represented by its President, Commissioner James Cavallaro, and Second Vice President, Commission Margaret May Macaulay, and the Faculty of Law UWI, Mona. It was funded by the European Union to the tune of $20,000 Euros.

At the end of the Seminar the Ombudspersons and related institutions present issued a joint statement on citizen security and human rights.


For further details, contact Tracy Robinson, Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Law, UWI, 927-1855

Andrew Hutchinson, Administrative Assistant, Faculty of Law, UWI Mona, 927-1855



Participants at the CARICOM Ombudspersons Seminar, May 20, 2016

Front (from left): Omb. Montserrat Solano Carboni (Costa Rica); Miss Kayla Beckford (INDECOM); Omb. The Hon. Donna Parchment Brown (Jamaica); Miss Leah Chavla (IACHR); Commr. Margarette May Macaulay (IACHR); Miss Tracy Robinson (UWI Mona), Mrs Inez Neita Scott (Office of the Pubic Defender); Omb. Lynette Stephenson (Trinidad & Tobago); Omb. Georgina Candal (Puerto Rico); Dr. Beverly Beckles (Equal Opportunities Commission, Trinidad & Tobago).

Back (from left): Omb. Valton Bend (Barbados); Mr Hamish Campbell (INDECOM); Mr Floyd McNabb (INDECOM); Omb. Flannan Johnson Cenac (St. Lucia); Mr Terrence Williams (INDECOM); Mr Qusedon Jones (Office of the Public Defender); Mr Nigel Morgan (INDECOM); Commr. Hiram MelĂ©ndez-Juarbe  (IACHR); Mr Justice Henderson Downer, Retired (Office of the Children's Advocate); Mr Dave Lewin (INDECOM); Omb. Lionel Arzu (Belize).


This has been produced with the financial assistance of the European Union. The contents of this document are the sole responsibility of the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights and the Faculty of Law, UWI Mona and can under no circumstances be regarded as reflecting the position of the European Union.