UWI Crest Campus Image: Mona Curve image for menu aesthetics
Coloured Mural
Marketing and Communications Office
Search |

UWI Mona’s Prof. Michael Taylor awarded Silver Musgrave Medal for work in Climate Change

Head of the Department of Physics at the University of the West Indies, Professor Michael Taylor has been awarded the Silver Musgrave Medal by the Institute of Jamaica for his work in climate change.
The ceremony will be held on Wednesday, October 16, 2013, at 3:00 p.m. at the Institute of Jamaica.
Over the years Professor Taylor has attempted to bridge the information gap through sustained research and scholarly activity in the field. His initial research focused on the Pacific and Atlantic drivers of Caribbean climate. This yielded oft cited papers which have contributed to fundamental theories related to Caribbean climate. Subsequently, the focus has been on determining among other issues, how climate change impacts the economy, infrastructure, lifestyle and health of Caribbean nations.
The Climate Studies Group, Mona (CSGM), of which he became Director in 2007, has in recent years been successfully positioned as a national and regional research entity to be consulted on matters related to the science of climate change, and the lead centre for coordinating regional climate modeling efforts. The group, through a multi-country collaborative initiative coordinated by the CSGM, has to date produced the only dynamically downscaled climate information for the Caribbean. This has significantly altered the way climate change is spoken of in the Caribbean context.
Professor Taylor explained how he feels about being awarded for his contribution to the field of Climate Change: “ I am very humbled that my country has recognized my work and thinks that it is worthy of being awarded and I’m honoured to be amongst those who have received this prestigious award.”
ProfessorTaylor further explained that he is very passionate about what he does and will continue to contribute to the knowledge of the impacts of climate change on the Caribbean territories.
The Musgrave Medals, named after former Governor of Jamaica Sir Anthony Musgrave, are awarded each year in gold, silver and bronze to persons who have made significant contributions to the development of literature, science and the arts in Jamaica and the West Indies. Some of the recipients of the medal were Edna Manley, Louise Bennett-Coverley, and Dean Fraser.

© The University of the West Indies. All rights reserved. Disclaimer | Privacy Statement
Telephone: (876) Fax: (876)
Site best viewed at 800 x 600 resolution or higher.