UWI Crest Campus Image: Mona Curve image for menu aesthetics
Coloured Mural
Marketing and Communications Office
Search |

Five to Receive VC Award for Excellence at 2012 Ceremony

Five members of the academic staff at the Cave Hill, Mona and St. Augustine Campuses of UWI will receive the prestigious 2011/12 Vice Chancellor’s Award for Excellence. This year’s Ceremony will be held at the Mona Campus on Monday, October 29 at 6 pm at the Mona Visitors’ Lodge and Conference Centre.
The awardee at Mona is Professor Mark Figueroa, former Dean, Faculty of Social Sciences who will be recognized for excellence in service to the University community.  While, from the Cave Hill Campus Dr. Eddy Ventrose of the Faculty of Law, will be recognized for excellence in research accomplishment. He is also the youngest person to be named professor at UWI. Also from the Cave Hill Campus is Professor Hazel Oxenford, Head, Centre for Resource Management and Environmental Studies who will be recognized for excellence for all round excellent performance in research and public service. At the St. Augustine Campus, Dr. Grace Sirju-Charan in the Department of Life Sciences will receive an award for excellence in teaching and Professor Zulaika Ali in the Department of Child Health for excellence in public service. 
The Vice Chancellor’s Award for Excellence was instituted in 1994 as a way of recognizing excellence on the part of the academic and senior administrative staff. Awards are made in the categories of Teaching, Research Accomplishments, Service to the University Community, Public Service and All-Round Performance in a combination of two or more of the other four categories. 

© The University of the West Indies. All rights reserved. Disclaimer | Privacy Statement
Telephone: (876) Fax: (876)
Site best viewed at 800 x 600 resolution or higher.