Mona Events Calendar Mona News Home Mona News Exclusives Advertising with us About Mona News Contributors Archives Subscriptions Contact Us UWI Mona Homepage

Carimac Redesignated


The official name of the Caribbean Institute of Media and Communication at UWI Mona changed to Caribbean School of Media and Communication, effective August 1, 2017. The popular brand name – CARIMAC –will remain the short title for the School.

The name change was effected through a series of approvals by the appropriate structures at UWI Mona. It is based on a recommendation by the UWI 's quality assurance review panel, and endorsed by internal faculty as well as by external industry stakeholders.

The imminent change comes against the background of a progression of institutional reforms and substantial growth at CARIMAC over many years. There has been a doubling of the number of both undergraduate and graduate programmes offered at CARIMAC in the last 5 years. The student population at both the Mona and Western Jamaica campuses has also expanded to close to 600 students.

Currently, CARIMAC offers first degrees in Integrated Marketing Communication, Digital Media Production, Film Production, Animation and Journalism. Masters degrees are offered in Communications Studies, Communication for Social and Behaviour Change, advanced Integrated Marketing Communication and shortly, in Media Management.

Students also wishing to pursue MPhil's and PhDs in any aspect of Communication may do so at CARIMAC, which is widely regarded as the Caribbean region's leading institution for all levels of communication training, research, teaching and production.

Established forty-three years ago in 1974, the Institute was initially known as 'Mass Comm'. In the early 1980s, its designation was altered from'Mass Communication' to'Media and Communication' and it acquired the short name CARIMAC.

Externally, the recommendation for the latest name change was endorsed by the General Assembly of the Caribbean Broadcasting Union and by CARIMAC's current Advisory Board of industry leaders.

Anguilla Antigua Bahamas Barbados Belize The British Virgin Islands The Cayman Islands Dominica Grenada Jamaica Montserrat St. Kitts St. Lucia St. Vincent The Republic Of Trinidad & Tobago Turks & Caicos Islands