FST Women in STEM received Science and Technology XXtrordineers Awards

Photo caption: SRC Chairman Parris Lyew-Ayew and Executive Director Dr Charah Watson (back row, second right) with S&T XXtrordineers honourees: (Front row, from left) Dr Michelle Hamilton, Professor Marcia Roye, Professor Tannecia Stephenson, Dr Simone Badal and Dr Ava Maxam. (Back row, from left) Professor Alison Nicholson, Dr Phylicia Ricketts and Dr Winklett Gallimore. Not pictured is Dr Lisa Myer-Morgan. (Photos: Llewellyn Wynter)

Nine Jamaican women across the fields of science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) were acknowledged and awarded plaques by the Scientific Research Council (SRC) at its inaugural Science and Technology XXtrordineers Recognition Programme on Thursday at the Terra Nova Hotel in St Andrew.

According to Executive Director, Dr Charah Watson, the S&T XXtrordineers Recognition Programme is an effort by the SRC to raise awareness about STEM and inspire participation among youngsters in the fields.

She said the strategy is to use the achievement of influential women in the sector. The nine women were nominated by the public in September.

The women are Dr Simone Badal for her work on prostate cancer cell line; Dr Winklet Gallimore, chemistry; Dr Michelle Hamilton, biochemistry, immunology and medical microbiology; Dr Ava Maxam, geographic information system; Dr Lisa Myer-Morgan, plant epidemiology and virology; Professor Alison Nicholson, medical microbiology; Dr Phylicia Ricketts, medical physics, physics of the human body, mechanics and optics; Professor Marcia Roye, molecular biology, biotechnology and molecular virology; and Professor Tannecia Stephenson, senior lecturer and head of the department of physics at University of the West Indies (UWI).