National Honours for 2022 bestowed on 10 members of The UWI Family

 National Honours for 2022 bestowed on 10 members of The UWI Family

(L-R): Professor Ronald Edward Young; Professor Maureen A. Samms-Vaughan, CD;  Professor Mona Kay Webber; Professor Alvin George Wint, CD.

The University of the West Indies (The UWI) Mona congratulates the recipients of some of Jamaica’s highest honours in the 2022 National Honours and Awards. The honourees were recognised at the National Honours and Awards Ceremony, on National Heroes Day – Monday, October 17, 2022, on the lawns of King’s House.

The UWI community proudly notes that among the honourees are several current and former members of The UWI Mona staff and Honorary Graduates, these include four members who received the Jamaican honours system – The Order of Jamaica. They were:

1. Monty Alexander, CD, for sterling contribution to the promotion of Jamaican music and the jazz genre interpretations globally (Honorary Graduate);

2. Mrs. Shelly-Ann Fraser Pryce, CD, for outstanding performance in the field of athletics at the international level (Honorary Graduate);

3. Professor Maureen A. Samms-Vaughan, CD, for pioneering research, clinical work and policy development in the field of Child Health, Child Development and Behaviour (Staff);

4. Professor Alvin George Wint, CD, for distinguished service to the development of public and private institutions and academia in Jamaica (Professor Emeritus).

Also included were four (4) members who received the Order of Distinction – Rank of Commander. They were:

1. Mr. Michael Anthony Clarke for his contribution to sports in the area of track & field (Retiree);

2. Professor Mona Kay Webber for her contribution to preserving and protecting the marine and coastal environment of Jamaica (Staff);

3. Professor Ronald Edward Young, for his contribution to the field of physiology with emphasis on neurophysiology (Retiree).


Additionally, two (2) members received the Order of Distinction – Rank of Officer:

1. Dr. Amina Blackwood-Meeks, BH (M), for her contribution to the development of the literary arts in the Jamaican culture (Retiree);

2. Dr. Myrna-Hague-Bradshaw for her contribution to the Jamaican music industry. (Honorary Graduate)

And finally, a Badge of Honour for Meritorious Service was awarded to Dr. Barbara Antonette Salmon Grandison received a Badge of Honour for Meritorious Service, for notable service to the public health sector (Staff).

Pro Vice-Chancellor and Campus Principal of The Mona Campus, Professor Dale Webber, in congratulating the 2022 honourees, and thanking them for their contributions both to The UWI and to the wider global community said, “I always beam with joy and pride when I see our Faculty of past and present as well as our Honorary Graduates receive these coveted honours. It is a true indicator that with this kind of talent in our midst, The UWI is well on its way to becoming an excellent global university rooted in the Caribbean. The entire community shares my joy for their achievement! We are proud of their stellar contributions to the development of our nation.”