Close Menu

About Us

The University of the West Indies (UWI) had its beginnings at Mona, Jamaica as an overseas medical college of the University of London in 1948 with admission of thirty-three medical students. Conceived and nurtured to serve the needs of the English-speaking Caribbean, by 1963, it had become a truly regional institution, with campuses established in Jamaica, Trinidad and Barbados and the authority to award its own degrees.

Over the last seventy years, the Faculty of Medical Sciences first expanded clinical teaching to Trinidad and Barbados in 1967 under the Eastern Caribbean Medical Scheme. In 1989 a full medical school was established in Trinidad with expansion of clinical teaching to Nassau, Bahamas in 1997 and, in 2008, the clinical programme in Barbados was expanded to a full 5-year programme. All of its Faculties operate within the governance and policies of their campus under an established and structured central administration As the oldest faculty in the UWI, the Faculty of Medical Sciences at Mona has grown tremendously with current enrolment of almost 5000 students and offering undergraduate programmes in Medicine, Basic Medical Sciences, Nursing, Dentistry, Physical Therapy, Diagnostic Imaging and Pharmacy.

In addition, it has more than 1000 students registered in postgraduate programmes. These include the popular DM Professional Degree programmes, providing training in an expanding number of medical specialties and several taught masters programmes like the Master of Public Health and the MSc in Forensic Science. In 2017, there were also 83 students registered for PhD/MPhil research degrees.

Further information and a complete listing of undergraduate and post graduate opportunities can
be found on the Programmes Page of this website.

Top of Page