Close Menu

The Department of Microbiology

The Department at a glance

The Department of Microbiology has the mandate to train world class health care workers in microbiology with a commitment to scholarship and research. As such, the staff members of the department offer quality undergraduate and postgraduate education to students of the university. Our initiatives also extend to building and maintaining a laboratory service that will facilitate the delivery of excellent clinical service as well as ‘cutting edge’ diagnostic services in the region. ISO accreditation by the Jamaica National Agency for Accreditation (JANAAC) has been established and maintained since 2017. The National Influenza Centre (NIC), a department initiative, supported by The University of the West Indies, the Ministry of Health and the Pan American Health Organization, provides invaluable services in the diagnosis and surveillance of Influenza viruses.

The department provides oversight for the infection prevention and control programme and the antibiotic stewardship programme for the University Hospital of the West Indies. There are five sections within the department, i.e., Bacteriology, Virology, Immunology, Mycology and Parasitology. These subspecialty areas of microbiology are covered by 10 faculty members: 2 professors, 2 senior lecturers, and 6 lecturers, with assistance from a teaching and research team and infection control nurses working with the department. The full complement of staff is 59 persons and includes:

  • Chief Medical Technologists 5
  • Senior Medical Technologists 30
  • Senior Administrative Assistant 1
  • Scientific Officer 1
  • Research Assistant 1
  • Secretaries 4
  • Clerk 1
  • Animal House Attendants 3
  • Teaching Assistant 1
  • Laboratory Attendants 4
  • Department Attendants 4
  • Senior Office Attendant 1
  • Storekeepers 2

  • Driver 1

Academic Programmes and Research

There are several programs facilitated by the department at both the undergraduate (MBBS, BB.Med.Sci., B.Sc.), and postgraduate (MPhil/PhD Microbiology, MSc Microbiology, MD Microbiology (research only), DM Medical Microbiology) levels. There are other programs currently in development.


Head of Department: Professor John Lindo
Sectional Heads: Dr. Karen Roye-Green (Bacteriology)
Dr. Joshua Anzinger (Virology)
Dr. Glendee Reynolds-Campbell (Mycology)
Professor John Lindo (Parasitology)
Dr Ynolde Leys (Immunology)

Department Contact Information

Telephone: 876-977-2206; 876-927-1620-9: ext: 2202-2204
Senior Administrative Assistant: Ms. Vennesia T. S. Jennings

Top of Page