Close Menu

CAPE Workshop 2022 Registration Form

The Faculty of Science and Technology is hosting its annual CAPE Workshops from January 3 – 7, 2022. These workshops are designed to reinforce theoretical knowledge through theory review, practice questions, and laboratory experience.

Kindly note:

  1. Given the challenges faced by all, during the pandemic, registration fee is J$500 for this year.
  2. Schools may participate in as many workshops as they wish; however, some workshops will run for the entire day.
  3. Schools who have not received registration confirmation may not be accommodated.

The workshop will be virtual. There are 6 separate one-day workshops in the fields of Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Geography, Mathematics and Physics. The sessions will run from 8:00a.m. to 5:30p.m to cover the following topics:

 

Biology


WORKSHOP DATES: January 4-7

Ms. Claudia Lewis – claudia.lewis@uwimona.edu.jm

  • Unit 1 – Angiosperms, Protein Synthesis, Tissue Culture, Genetic Engineering
  • Unit 2 – Immunity, Nervous System, Homeostasis, Ecosystems
Register for the Biology sessions here.

 


Chemistry


WORKSHOP DATES: January 3-7

Mrs. Tracia Johnson-Blair – tracia.johnson@uwimona.edu.jm

  • Unit 2 – Chromatography; Spectroscopic Methods of Analysis (U.V./Visible, Infrared, Mass Spectrometry)

Register for the Chemistry sessions here.

  


Computer Science


WORKSHOP DATES: January 3-7

Mr. Anthony Drummonds - anthony.drummonds02@uwimona.edu.jm

  • Unit 1 – Internal Assessment(SBA); C Programming: Functions, Arrays, Structures, Pointers and File Manipulation
  • Unit 2 – Internal Assessment(SBA); Abstract Data Types (ADTs)

Register for the Computer Science sessions here.

 


Geography


WORKSHOP DATES: January 3-7

Dr. Thera Edwards – thera.edwards02@uwimona.edu.jm

  • Unit 1 – Map Reading, Hydrology and Limestone environments
  • Unit 2 – Map Reading, Climate

Register for the Geography sessions here.

 


Mathematics


WORKSHOP DATES: January 3-7

Dr. Kirk Morgan - kirk.morgan02@uwimona.edu.jm

  • Unit 1 – Differentiation; Integration; Trigonometric Functions; Induction Functions
  • Unit 2 – Integration; Sequences, Series and Approximation; Counting; Complex Numbers; Differential Equations

Register for the Mathematics sessions here.

 


Physics


WORKSHOP DATES: January 3-7

Ms. Candice Charlton – candice.charlton02@uwimona.edu.jm

  • Unit 1 – Simple Harmonic Motion
  • Unit 2 – Operational Amplifiers

Register for the Physics sessions here.

 


To register, please follow the link on the subject area. Kindly allow 24 hours to receive confirmation of your booking.

For more information, you can contact the point person for the respective subject area, listed above.

We look forward to your school’s participation in The UWI CAPE Workshops 2022.

Top of Page