Close Menu


Aleem Mahabir and Kristinia Doughorty are joint winners of the 2022 Courtney Russell Award from the AAG

Aleem Mahabir and Kristinia Doughorty are the two winners of the 2022 Courtney Russell Award, co-sponsored by American Association of Geographers Caribbean Speciality and GIS Specialty Groups. Aleem's paper focused on psychosocial dispositions & exclusion in the Caribbean island of Trinidad while Kristinia's focused on the resilience of nutmeg agroecosystems in Grenada. Congratulations to both Aleem and Kristinia - Geographers Going Places!
For more information check the following links

Department of Geography and Geology Graduates Establish Climate Change Mentorship Programme - GirlsCARE

Jhannel Tomlinson and Ayesha Constable both graduates of the Department of Geography and Geology have joined forces to establish the Girls Climate Action for Resilience & Empowerment (GirlsCARE) programme.. The programme will initially benefit twenty-five young women in the Caribbean to develop their local and regional climate advocacy capacity and  improve their global reach. 

Anne-Teresa Birthwright appointed STeP (Science, Technology & Policy) Fellow

Dr. Birthwright was appointed a STeP (Science, Technology & Policy) Fellow on February 9, 2022. This appointment will support the establishment of the IAI Science Diplomacy Center through the Inter-American Institute for Global Change Research (IAI) 

International Women’s Day: FST Celebrates Jamaican Women in Climate Change

The Faculty of Science and Technology in collaboration with the Climate Change Division (Ministry of Housing, Urban Renewal, Environment and Climate) joined the global platform to recognise all women working in and serving as advocates for Climate Change. PhD students, graduates and current staff of the Department of Geography and Geology are are among thirty (30) Caribbean women featured in this publication highlighting thought-leaders advocating for societal resilience to Climate Change.

Congratulations to Gabrielle Gayle - 2021 BOOST Fellow

Gabrielle Gayle is a 2021 Geology Major graduate of the Department of Geography and Geology.  BOOST Fellows, representing the best science and education graduates from The UWI, will be placed in high schools to teach STEM subjects in six successive cohorts. The Fellows will receive a scholarship equivalent to the cost of one year of their University tuition for each year they spend teaching in the programme, up to three years, with a further incentive payment for excellent performance.

Richard Robertson promoted to Professor of Geology

Richard Robertson, volcanologist and a Department of Geography and Geology alumnus was promoted to the rank of Professor at UWI, St. Augustine. He delivered his inaugral professorial lecture on November 11, 2021. 

Subscribe to RSS - UWI
Top of Page