Close Menu

FST Guild Committee

     fst logo

fstguild contact




Message from the Faculty Representative

FSt Rep

Vashawn Saxton
The 2018 - 2019 Faculty Representative.

It is my pleasure to welcome new and returning students to the Faculty of Science and Technology, the Faculty of Greatness. To the new students, your acceptance to the UWI is the first step to achieving greatness and therefore, I say Congratulations! To returning students I extend congratulations on the continuing pursuit of your goals amidst the challenges. I hope you will take the lessons learnt in previous years to make this academic year great.

As a member of the Faculty of Science and Technology you have joined a family. This family is here to support, care and celebrate you in both the academic and social components of your university life. Each student upon being fully registered at the University of the West Indies automatically becomes a member of a larger family known as The UWI Guild of Students. The UWI Guild of Students is headed by The UWI Guild Council which serves as the official body of student representation at The University of the West Indies, Mona Campus. The UWI Mona Guild Council is comprised of: The Executive Members, Faculty Representatives and Hall Chairpersons.

The Faculty of Science and Technology Guild Committee (FSTGC) is the arm of the Guild in the Faculty of Greatness. The main duty of the FSTGC is to work with the larger Guild body and Faculty Administration to voice concerns and advocate issues on behalf of the 3000+ students in the Faculty of Science & Technology. This includes planning initiatives geared towards increasing students’ welfare and development.

We are happy you have chosen The UWI but even more elated that you have chosen the Faculty of Science and Technology. As such we hope that you will join us as active participants in the events that we will host throughout the year. These include our Mentorship Programme, Faculty Games, Wealth Symposium and fundraising activities.

We are excited to have you as part of our family and will be even more excited as you embrace your Faculty and walk the paths of the UWI with pride. Remember, you are a member of the Faculty of Science and Technology.. Embrace our motto: “Destined for Greatness”.

FSt Guild Reps

Front left to right: Reezana Rafique - Leslie Robinson Hall Rep., Tiffany Campbell - Cultural Entertainment Affairs Chairperson, Mellissa Walker - Secretary, Chelsi James - Biochemistry Department Rep., Tanice Brown - Vice-President of Initiatives, Vashawn Saxton - President of the Faculty of Science and Technology Guild Committee (FSTGC), Peta-ann Sawyers - Irvin Hall Rep., Nadrine Simms - ABC Hall Rep., Sarah Meylor - Treasurer, Jessica Patmore Valentine - Asst. Treasurer

Back left to right: Rajae Daley - Geology and Geography Department Rep., Tyrgve Bernard - Taylor Hall Rep., JoGianna Hall - Vice President of Services, Anthony Brown - Chemistry Department Rep., Leshaun Morris - Public Relations Officer, Malik Kington - Elsa Leo-Rhynie Hall Rep., Kayla Effs - Computer Sciences Department Rep., Ricardo Blake - Preston Hall Rep., Christopher Ricketts - External Affairs Chairperson

Missing: Dean Morgan - Chancellor Hall Rep., Stephanie Brown - Mary Seacole Hall Rep., Jade Francis - Math Department Rep., Travert Clarke - Games Committee Chairman, Keshan Livingston - Games Committee Chairwoman, Shinell Gordon - Life Sciences Department Rep., Steven Palmer - Physics Rep., Cornellia Dowdie - Asst. Secretary, Kyle Stewart - George Allyene Hall Rep., Dadria Scott - Rex Nettleford Hall Rep.

The Faculty Committee shall:

(a) Represent the views of the students in the Faculty to the Guild Council and the respective Faculty Boards.

(b) Have their respective constitutions which shall be automatically authorized by the Guild Constitution.

(c) Promote maximum participation of members of the Faculty in activities organized by the Guild Council, in addition to two (2) other activities that advance the curricular and co-curricular interests of students in the Faculty.


The main function of the Faculty Guild Committee is to assist the Faculty Representative in executing his/her duties and make a wider impact. The positions in the Faculty Committee include:

-Vice President
-Public Relations Officer (PRO)
-Publications Committee Chairperson (PCC)
-Internal Affairs Chairperson (IAC)
-Cultural Events and Activities Chairperson (CEAC)
-Office Manager
-Department Representatives


Learning continues outside of the classroom! Hence, students are encouraged to play their part and also get involved with the UWI Guild or other organizations on or off campus as these help to mould students into well-rounded individuals and into the ideal UWI graduate!

With the GUILD: Guild Council members are selected during Guild Elections which run from February to March of every year. Guild Elections are exciting times of the year. These elections are similar to National Elections, complete with campus-wide campaigning, debates, strict rules governing the elections, security and the casting and counting of ballots!

With the FST GUILD COMMITTEE: Visit the FST Guild Office (located in close proximity to the FST Dean’s Office) and speak to your Faculty Representative or a committee chairperson TODAY! @uwiscitech @fst_uwimona  @fstuwi_mona @fstuwi_mona          

Top of Page