Close Menu

Two UWI Scientists Appointed to the SIDS Liaison Committee of the International Science Council (ISC)

Professor Terrence Forrester

Two UWI scientists, Prof Terrence Forrester (UWI Mona) and Prof Michelle Mycoo (UWI St. Augustine) have been appointed to the Small Island Developing States (SIDS) Liaison Committee of the International Science Council (ISC). The Liaison Committee will strengthen integration of scientific knowledge from Small Island Developing States into the ISC’s activities.

The ISC notes that “eight distinguished scientists [were appointed] to the Small Island Development States (SIDS) Liaison Committee. The Committee comprises scientists with diverse experience at the science-policy nexus, each based in different Small Island States around the world. The Committee will be consulted on strategic matters, such as mobilizing input from the SIDS scientific community for the UN Decade of Ocean Science in Sustainable Development. Members will also work to bring other matters to the attention of the ISC or its advisory committees, so that representation of the SIDS scientific community is strengthened across the Council’s activities.”

The Faculty of Science and Technology congratulates Prof. Forrester and Prof. Mycoo.


For more on the SIDS Liaison Committee and its membership:

For more on the International Science Council (ISC):


Dr Michelle Mycoo

Published on 18 Jul, 2020

Top of Page