Close Menu

About Us

Solar Panels

The Earthquake Unit (EQU) is a Research Unit at the University of the West Indies, Mona Campus. The EQU serves as Jamaica's hub for earthquake monitoring and seismic research. In addition to the Central Recording Station, the Unit operates the Jamaica Seismograph Network (JSN), the Jamaica Strong Motion Network (JSMN), the Jamaica Educational Seismic Network (JAESN), and a Global Positioning System network, which together measure a range of crustal movements - weak and strong coseismic displacements to very small aseismic strains.

Mission Statement

Through operating the Jamaica Seismograph Network and affiliating with other Caribbean and Regional networks, the Earthquake Unit seeks to understand earthquake processes in and around Jamaica, and advise the society about earthquake hazards, thereby encouraging community awareness and the application of mitigative strategies to development.

Roles and Responsibilities

  • ► Operate and manage the Jamaica Seismograph Network (JSN), which consists of fourteen (14) broadband stations and forty-two (42) accelerographs.
  • ► Maintain a database of all earthquakes recorded by the JSN.
  • ► Inform the public about earthquakes felt in Jamaica.
  • ► Collect information about earthquakes felt in Jamaica.
  • ► Conduct research on seismicity, seismic hazard, current tectonic activity, site response and vibration analysis.
  • ► Serve as Jamaica's National Data Centre for the Comprehensive Nuclear Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO) International Data Centre.


Top of Page