Close Menu

Undergraduate Programme

Welcome to the Department of Physics!

The Department has been educating students in the study of Physics since 1948. Starting with the General Physics degree, we have expanded to five regular BSc. degrees and six special BSc. programmes. These degrees provide many opportunities for work and research for our students. The courses are developed and taught by our highly respected faculty members whose research is globally acclaimed.

Within each degree, we offer practical courses, research project courses and even internship opportunities. Here in Physics, the theoretical background sets a firm foundation for further studies and application, within the department and anywhere else in the world!

Our regular degrees are:

  1. General Physics
  2. Electronics
  3. Materials Science
  4. Medical Physics
  5. Energy and Environmental Physics

Our special BSc, Programmes are:

  1. Biomedical Radiation Science
  2. Biomedical Instrumentation
  3. Climate Science and Electronics System
  4. Electronics and Alternative Energy Systems
  5. Electronics and Computer Science
  6. Physics with Education

We also offer free elective courses for those not inclined to undertake a whole degree in Physics. These have no requirement but your interest! They are:

  1. Essentials of Renewable Energy Technologies and Solutions
  2. Advanced Renewable Energy Technologies and Solutions
  3. Fundamentals of Energy Statistics
  4. Energy Information Management

These free electives can be combined with a few other courses in the faculty of Social Sciences for a minor. A minor consists of obtaining 18 credits of advanced level (levels 2 and 3) courses.


UWI Admission Requirements


Applicants should have the equivalent of 5 subjects (grades 1-3, including English Language) of which two (2) should be at the advanced level CAPE (2 units each) at grades 1-5, to be eligible for the full time 3 year degree programmes.

For additional information, visit the Undergraduate Admissions section.


Physics Department Admission Requirements

In addition to fulfilling general requirements for admission into the Faculty of Science and Technology, applicants must have passes in CAPE Physics (Units I & II) OR GCE A-Level Physics OR PHYS0411, PHYS0412, PHYS0421, PHYS0422 OR CSEC Physics/GCE O-Level.

Physics and CAPE Mathematics (Units I & II)/GCE A-Level Mathematics/MATH0100, MATH0110

Programme Structure

The undergraduate program in Physics provides a deep understanding of both classical and modern physics. The duration of the undergraduate degree is 3 years. In the first year of the programme every physics major* does the following core courses:

First Year
Semester 1 (September - December) Semester 2 (January-May)
MATH1141 -Intro to Linear Algebra and Analytic Geometry ELET1500 - Electric Circuit Analysis
MATH1185 - Calculus for Scientists and Engineers PHYS1421 -Electricity and Magnetism
PHYS1411 - Mechanics PHYS1422 - Modern Physics
PHYS1412 - Waves, Optics & Thermodynamics  


After second year first semester, most of the core courses that are done are specific to the selected major. You are also required to select at least 2 other courses as electives.

*Further information can be found in the Faculty Handbook here. Additional information about the special BSc programs can be found here.

Top of Page