Close Menu


The Institute for Gender and Development Studies is not attached to any faculty. It is an independent institute in the university - a decision taken to underline its relevance to all disciplines and to facilitate collaboration with all faculties.

IGDS consists of four (4) Units: a Regional Co-ordinating Unit (RCU) located on the University's Mona campus, and three Campus Units - at Cave Hill, Barbados; at Mona, Jamaica; and at St Augustine, Trinidad & Tobago. Gender Boards of Studies, chaired by the Heads of the Campus Units, function like Faculty Boards, with membership comprising staff of the Units, representatives from Faculties, the UWI Library, the student body, and co-opted members.

The Heads of the Campus Units are members of the respective campus Academic Boards. IGDS staff represent the Institute on selected faculty boards and other boards/committees on each campus. The Institute also attends meetings of the Board for Undergraduate Studies (BUS). The University Director of the Regional Co-ordinating Unit is an ex-officio member of the three Gender Boards of Studies.

The IGDS reports to the Vice Chancellor through the IGDS Regional Co-ordinating Unit. Campus Units report to the Campus Principals and the respective campus Academic Boards.

Top of Page